top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturepigeonholeillus

Voices Within



"In spite of living in the subcontinent, my culture remains alien to me and I, remain alien to it. It has much to do with classism and post-colonialism. It has much to do with my lack of association. It has much to do with me preferring the West. It has much to do with me wanting to listen to Rihanna than Rahat Fateh Ali. The Eurocentric-complex runs deep within our society.


I grew up speaking the tongue of the invaders of my motherland. And today, I know their language much better than my own. Theirs not mine. Strikes as an indenting crisis, doesn’t it? Being unable to associate with your own culture, under the influence of thieves."


Written by The Disappointed Goddess

Animated by @illusnaab

Tell us YOUR story by using the submissions tab or click here, you can also DM us on Instagram @pigeonhole_illustrations!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page