top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturepigeonholeillus

Rusée

"Is it cultural appropriation, or just a look?"

"The fox eye makeup recently became a massive trend all over the Internet; it can be defined as elongating the inner corner and edge of your eyes with an eyeliner, to elongate the appearance of your eyes. The result looks slanted and line-like; apparently sharp and fierce. A slight lift of the eye is understandable, and even really pretty in my opinion. But when done very dramatically, to completely alter the appearance of your eyes, the look becomes increasingly reminiscent to the very ‘asian eyes’ that many actual Asians have been bullied for having. Somehow, a slanted eye is deemed beautiful on the face of Caucasians, but an abnormality on the face of people who have always had that feature? Why is pulling your eyes back okay when you’re a specific type of person? This made me realize that everything can be considered okay as long as you’re the right race... Am I looking too deep into this, based on my past racist encounters, or am I actually right? I don’t know. I really don’t know."

Written by Anonymous from HK

Illustrated by @dearmacherie

Tell us YOUR story by using the submissions tab or click here, you can also DM us on Instagram @pigeonhole_illustrations!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page