top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturepigeonholeillus

Plane Ride Back: The Aftermath

Mandatory quarantine is 14 days long, during which, you had to remain within the walls of your quarantine address. Upon arriving I activated my quarantine app which was synced up to my tracking bracelet. I zipped up and down every corner of my house as instructed, to ensure that the app knew the boundaries of my home. (Wouldn't want to get in trouble for going to the loo!)

Quarantine was peaceful and uneventful, I enjoyed this very much. During which I wandered the house wearing a face mask (my mother was living with me, so I had to wear one) opening the windows, doing the laundry, getting some exercise, drawing and playing Animal Crossing. Despite the freedom and abundance of activity, I was dependant on others. Groceries were prepared by my mother because I couldn't leave the house, I love cooking but was kept out of the kitchen in case I infected something. (I wasn't ill, but this was done as a precaution!!!)

Monitoring my health was important. Every morning and afternoon, I would have to record my temperature in a booklet given to me at AsiaExpo. Though, I often missed out on morning temperature checks in favour of sleeping in! (I did do my best to wake up early though) After every meal, I had to sanitise the table. My quarantine address was a village house in Sai Kung, the house belongs to my grandparents, who moved to live in the UK. (My father and brother lived in our small apartment in the city area, my father is a healthcare worker, so we stayed away from each other just in case I caught something on the plane and he wouldn't be able to work) This meant that we were fortunate enough to have 2 separate bathrooms, to again, minimise risks. I slept in the room on the roof level whilst my mother slept on the second floor, this helped to provide as much social distance between us as possible.


On the 10th day of my quarantine, I woke up extra early, because I had to provide a new saliva sample mixed with a good dosage of morning breath. (It's a gross requirement for the best results) But yet again, because I wasn't allowed to leave the house, my mother had to take the saliva example to a nearby clinic on my own, my mother was up for the task. It should be noted that people without family members at staying with them had the option of requesting a GoGoVan to pick up the samples for them. (This costs $100, which, I think shouldn't be the case, as not everyone is able to afford it, and these tests are for the betterment of everyone within Hong Kong.) My mother got to the clinic before 11, the paper with the information about drop-offs wrote that clinic accept saliva samples between 9-11, however, turns out, this can differ between clinics, so be sure to read carefully about your closest clinic.


Being a homebody, staying home wasn't difficult for me; however, I recognise that some may find it boring or too isolating. Always remember that you're being told to stay home for the sake of others and yourself; if you're asked to remain in quarantine despite being tested, recognise that this is done in order to minimise the risk for everyone. Truth be told, the tracking bracelet is easily removable and you could always leave the house without your phone, it's easy to just leave. Think about others and think about yourself, don't risk a short bit of happiness to make life harder. We all have to make an effort regardless of who we are.


Written and Illustrated by @dearmacherie


Tell us YOUR story by using the submissions tab or clicking here, you can also DM us on Instagram @pigeonhole_illustrations!


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tai Chi

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page