top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCherie S

Reflection, refraction and dispersion

The first story we're featuring on 'KNEW' is written by Prague illustrator Martina Fischmeister, who tells us about her ups and downs during 2020.



"The year 2020 has definitely tested me in my perseverance. Both me and my partner, who’s also an illustrator felt completely hopeless. We lost almost all streams of income and had to come up with new ways to support ourselves. Luckily this period didn’t last long, but long enough to teach us a few things about resilience in our profession.


But it wasn’t all bad! I had an amazing opportunity to spend a week in Poland painting a mural and making new illustrator friends. I also had an exhibition with my partner, finally finished my comic La Loba and exhibited it in one of the biggest illustration festivals in Czechia called LUSTR. My illustrations appeared in new magazines and even a book I worked on came out and much more.


Even despite these accomplishments, I found myself in a downward spiral, doubting everything I did and being quite hopeless. I had to turn to my inner resources and find the strength I needed in myself, not in the external world. I turned to my comic La Loba, which is based on a legend from Northern Mexico and literally means Wolf Woman. I discovered it in a book called ‘’Women, who ran with the wolves’' by Clarissa Pinkola-Estés. I dug into what it means to be a wolf woman. They have this fierceness, wildness, they are brave and uplifting, helping others in need and staying strong in a face of adversity. I really aspire to that. When I feel down I often feel my inner wolf woman lifting me up and giving me strength. It was just what I needed in this turbulent and uncertain year- and to think this comic began only as a drawing exercise and now it’s helping me in these hard times!


I can thank 2020 for this gift of inner strength and self-reliance. A lot of things sucked, but it ultimately pushed me in the right direction.


In 2021 I hope to try new techniques, like lithography, explore new themes and not get stuck in one place, literally and with my art!"



Written by Martina Fischmeister

Illustrated by @illusnaab

Tell us YOUR story by using the submissions tab or click here, you can also DM us on Instagram @pigeonhole_illustrations!


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Close

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page